brilliant bash

top party possibilities

Vendor Spotlight: Sweet Sweets Cake Art September 28, 2010

Filed under: Decor,Refreshments,Vendors — brilliantbash @ EDT
Tags: , ,

Ida Thibeh Wiese is a talented cake artist located in Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, and is the brilliant mind (and hands) behind Sweet Sweets, creating cake art for all occasions.

Specializing in wedding cakes, Sweet Sweets’ cakes are edible works of art, designed to personally reflect each client’s personal taste and style.  Prices range from $4 to $20 per serving, and are determined on a project to project basis, keeping complexity, artwork and size under consideration.

Modern and Dramatic

Sweet and Structural

I had the opportunity to chat with Wiese and ask her about her work as a cake artist.  Here is an excerpt from our conversation:

Brilliant Bash: How did you get started as a cake designer?

ITW: I wasn’t planning on becoming a cake designer at all.  I spent many years studying in hopes of pursuing a career in international law, but I became bored and exhausted by the countless hours spent studying. I once created a cake for a family member and she said that I should really get into making cakes, and that was it! I took my natural artistic ability and started making cakes.  When I first started it was really important to me that I set myself apart from everyone else and truly created something different and artistic.

Brilliant Bash: What do you enjoy most about your job?

ITW: Everything!!! I love the entire process from sitting down and getting to know the couple to adding the final touches on the cake.  I love meeting with couples and I do my best to try to get to know their style, what their likes and dislikes are, and what the vibe or feeling of the wedding will be.  Having this information allows me to truly create something that captures the personality of each couple.

Brilliant Bash: What have you been told (or do you think) sets you apart from other cake designers?

ITW: I’ve been told that my cakes are modern, artistic, contemporary, chic and a minimalistic backdrop to allow the details to stand out.  I also believe what truly sets me apart from other designers is that my cakes are truly unique…no two cakes are alike!  I have cakes that have been inspired by letters, centrepieces, trees, bed sheets, floral vases, china, backdrops and canopies. At the request of my clients, I have been inspired by other cakes, but I still strive to make it their cake.  I want my couples to feel like they are commissioning a personal piece of art.

Brilliant Bash: What has your favourite cake been to work on?

ITW: Creating each cake comes with its own little story so it’s hard for me to pick and choose which story means more to me.  The inspiration for Shelley’s cake [pictured below], with the vintage broaches, came from so many elements including a brooch bouquet, vintage feathers, a dress – and the most beautiful part of this cake was the added personal touch of a poem written by the groom to the bride…how romantic!!!! Another memorable cake was inspired by a Manzanita tree centerpiece [pictured below], and I feel this cake truly symbolizes what I do – I’m often inspired by something that has nothing at all to do with cake and I create a unique and artistic piece.

Shelley's Cake

The Inspiration: Brooch Bouquets Close-up

Inspired by a Manzanita Tree

For more information about Wiese’s Sweet Sweets masterpieces, please check out her website here.

Return to Brilliant Bash

 

2 Responses to “Vendor Spotlight: Sweet Sweets Cake Art”

  1. Ida Says:

    Thank you so much Laura for the feature…I totally love it all!!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers