brilliant bash

top party possibilities

Brilliant Bash: Asparagus Cake October 29, 2010

I came across this gorgeous website today called Sweetapolita.  Rosie is a dessert designer and baker based in Newcastle, Ontario, and is in the midst of starting her own cake and dessert-making business.  Her talent shines through her website and blog, with her great eye for colour and form, and her knack for creating unique, eye-catching confections.  Her dessert tables are out of this world!

Check out this asparagus cake!  Unbelievable.

Eat your vegetables

 

Amazing Detail

 

Surprise!

This is what Rosie had to say about her inspiration and creative process:

Funny thing happened on the way to designing my sister-in-law, Mary’s cake for her post-figure-competition [bodybuilding] celebration: my pink and frilly cake idea got hijacked by this sudden idea that I had to create a hyper-realistic vegetable confection.  It was an “Aha!” moment, and I knew right then and there that there was no turning back.  Thing is, while training for the IDFA competition, she was so disciplined, so regimented, and so ridiculously sick of eating asparagus.  The week before her show, during a text conversation we were having, in response to “How are you doing?” she replied, “I’m loathing asparagus!”  So, like any self-respecting sister-in-law and friend would do, I decided to to torment her with a green and spear-filled asparagus cake.  See, there’s something you should know: Mary is a foodie, and like me, lives for dessert.  This makes her pre-show determination and diet that much more remarkable.

Mary and I talked about the post-show celebration for the weeks leading up to it, and what she really wanted to eat–the girl deserved to eat whatever she wanted, and I was determined to make that happen for her.   As for dessert, she knew she wanted rich chocolate cake with Swiss meringue buttercream and fondant, so that was the starting point.  Once I had the cake baked, filled, and coated, I covered it in a nice bright leafy green fondant.  I then started on the asparagus. Working from a real bundle of asparagus for reference, I rolled out about 150 full-sized green fondant spears, a dozen at a time, snipped them to look as realistic as possible, and then let them dry.  I also dyed, rolled out, trimmed, and snipped  about 400 asparagus tips and set them aside to dry.  Once they were dry, I dusted them with several shades of green edible dusting powder (that I typically use for dusting sugar flowers and leaves), and small touches of red.  Once they were all dusted and looking particularly asparagus-ish, I started to assemble it all.  I wasn’t sure how it was all going to come together, but I loved making this cake, and, in the end, I was kind of proud of it!

Kind of proud?  This cake is outstanding, genuinely unique, and looks absolutely delicious (and I do not enjoy asparagus).  Wow – what an amazing result.  Rosie is superbly talented and is certainly one to watch in the world of dessert design.  Congrats on your new business venture, Rosie!

You can learn more about Rosie and Sweetapolita on her website and Twitter feed.

Photos Courtesy of Sweetapolita

Return to Brilliant Bash

 

3 Responses to “Brilliant Bash: Asparagus Cake”

  1. Taylor Says:

    AMAZING!

  2. Wow. that’s talent!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers