brilliant bash

top party possibilities

Vendor Spotlight: A Simple Photograph September 15, 2010

Erin Samuell of A Simple Photograph creates simply stunning images.  Her photos capture amazing, once-in-a-lifetime moments and she is an expert at using light and shadow in the most flattering and interesting ways.  The standard wedding shots are all present (i.e. the bouquet, the shoes, the program, the kiss, etc.), but Erin’s photos are unique and offer a truly different, soft and romantic perspective.

Creative Bouquet Shot

A Different Take on the Shoe Shot

Wedding Program Shot & Bridesmaid Shot - Check

Erin is an accomplished photographer who has been featured in Wedding Bells, Today’s Bride and Style Me Pretty, and has worked extensively with the Stratford Shakespeare Festival shooting behind the scenes and around the town of Stratford, Ontario.   Erin and her family are based in Bayfield, Ontario, but she is willing and able to travel for the right shoot.  To ensure the best service is available to each client, Erin accepts a only a limited number of weddings each year.

I had the opportunity to ask Erin a few questions about her photography, and her passion for her work really shone through.  Here is an excerpt of our conversation:

Brilliant Bash: What do you love most about photography?

Erin Samuell: Well so much really.  I think I was originally drawn to photography because of it’s immediacy.  I have always been a creative person and I loved being able to create something instantly.  I adored polaroids as a kid, really who didn’t love shaking those things?  Back then even waiting three minutes seemed like forever!  However, I think over time I found my real love of photography is it’s ability to capture the teeniest tiniest fraction of a moment and save it and hold on to it.  Photography allows you to remember a moment, and not just how you looked in that moment but how you felt.  I love being able to capture that stuff, the way she crinkles her nose when she laughs, the way he reaches for her hand.  I think our memories are kept in those smallest of things and photography is the only medium that seems to be able to see it, and highlight it.  It’s the stuff you would totally miss if you saw the whole picture.  The photo steals a millisecond and showcases it.  It highlights the smallest little nuance.  I love that!

Brilliant Bash: What do you love most about photographing weddings?

Erin Samuell: They’re beautiful!  I love the beauty and the details and all the things that the bride painstakingly prepares, it’s all visually stunning!  But more than that, I love the beauty of the people.  The emotion, the love, the party and often the silliness.  I love the spirit at a wedding.  When people find out I’m a wedding photographer, they often ask me to tell a good “bridezilla” story and the truth is I don’t have one and I think the whole bridezilla thing may be a myth!  EVERY bride wants to enjoy her wedding.  While of course there may be some tension or mishaps that lead up to the event, by the day of the wedding everyone is truly and genuinely there to celebrate love and togetherness.  That’s really what it’s all about and why we all do it, right?

Brilliant Bash: How did you get started in your career?  And why did you choose to start your own business?

Erin Samuell: Well as I mentioned earlier, I think I started very young with that good old instamatic!  I knew from that moment that I loved photography.  I studied commercial photography at Sheridan College in Oakville and I worked as an assistant photographer at a commercial studio for a couple of years after that.  After shooting product for awhile, I realized that wasn’t my passion and I set out on my own as a wedding and portrait photographer.  I focused on weddings early in my career and have since branched out a bit and now do some editorial work as well.  I love it all and I feel incredibly lucky that I have been able to turn my passion into my career!

Romantic!

Precious Moment

Great Close-Ups

Sassy Bride

Look at his face! What a moment *sniff*

So Different!

Love it!

Could this be more fabulous?

Erin also offers a photo booth service for special events.  Her photo booth style is irreverent and hilarious, and she somehow manages to pull people out of their shells and into the spotlight.  How fun!

A Simple Photo Booth

Who wouldn't want bridesmaid shots like these!

A Simple Photograph provides fabulous work by a talented Canadian artist – what else can I say?

If you would like to see more of Erin’s gorgeous photographs, you can visit her blog here. I’ll be posting one of Erin’s wedding shoots soon.  Keep checking the blog and Facebook page for updates!

A Simple Photograph is now booking for 2011 weddings.  Please see simplephoto.ca for more details. For more wedding inspiration, follow Erin on Twitter @asimplephoto

Photos Courtesy of A Simple Photograph

Return to Brilliant Bash

 

3 Responses to “Vendor Spotlight: A Simple Photograph”

  1. […] wedding photographer, small wedding I posted a feature on Ontario-based A Simple Photograph last week, as I absolutely adore Erin Samuell’s style and her artistic eye for colour, light and […]

  2. […] Those things are in production and will be ready in November.  My good friend, Erin Samuell of A Simple Photograph, has been indispensable, thanks to her beautiful photos and creative […]

  3. […] Samuell from A Simple Photograph (previously profiled here) has positioned a challenge for pending holiday […]


Leave a Reply

